Expecting an application to execute correctly when run with limited user privileges should be something that we take for granted. Alas in the real world this is not the case, but things are getting better, if slowly.

Perhaps we’re currently in some sort of transition process as demonstrated by Adobe Photoshop Elements 5.0. Adobe feel’s that it’s necessary to inform the user that they are running Photoshop Elements as a limited user:

AdobePhotoshopElementsLimitedUser

I commend Adobe on shipping an application (especially one aimed at consumers) that will run with limited rights, but I’m sure most users are probably going to see this dialogue box and have no idea what this means. I might be missing the bigger picture, but in my mind this notification is superfluous. Hopefully version 6.0 does better, I’ll have to download the trial version and see for myself.